Advent Calendar 08

It is day eight of the advent calendar, I think the thumbnail gives it away a little but there is much more to be revealed inside.

It is time to open another door on the TTCombat advent calendar. This one is for all the Venetian dock workers out there, read more if you’d like to know a little bit about some of the new kits for Carnevale… Boats!

So because this is a behind the scenes post about things that are going on in the design room at TTCombat, I’ll let you in on a little workplace joke.

In the office we have a large whiteboard with the designer’s names on and their projects for the coming weeks. Everyone was assigned their design briefs and then it came to me. We knew we wanted to do Large ships and boats for the Blood on the Water expansion, so Lewis decided that the best person for this job was me. For my skill as an MDF designer I hear you ask? Possibly. Because you’ve worked on intricate kits in the past? Yes, but that isn’t the reason.

It was because of my first Initial and my surname. (check above the post title, next to the date).

Shallow Water Boats

When we started looking into doing boats, it was decided that each faction should have their own unique looking craft that still fit the conventions of the period. I would start with a smaller boat, able to fit in a canal and then work up to a larger more impressive ship that could be used as a scenery centrepiece.

Guild Dhow

The Guild boat is a trade vessel. Used for carrying goods around the canals or trading to nearby city states. Common in design, able to pass unnoticed by anyone who isn’t in the know about their other illicit activities.

Rashaar Sloop

The Rashaar boat on the other hand is loaded up with an entirely different cargo. One altogether more dangerous. Metal bars protect and contain marine terrors with, also handily providing the vessel its locomotion.

Patrician Brig